Clayton County

Superior and State Courts


This site is dedicated for the special programs and community access of the Superior and State Courts of Clayton County, Georgia. The Superior and State Courts are located at the Harold R. Banke Justice Center, 9151 Tara Boulevard, Jonesboro, GA 30236.  To access the official site for Clayton County Courts information and court calendars, click the logo below:

Superior Court

The Superior Court of the Clayton Judicial Circuit is a trial court of general jurisdiction which has exclusive constitutional authority over the following:

  • Those involving title to land
  • Divorce
  • Equity
  • Declaratory judgment
  • Habeas corpus
  • Mandamus
  • Quo warranto and prohibition
  • Adoptions
  • Felony cases prosecuted by the District Attorney’s office

Robert L. Mack, Chief Judge

Geronda V. Carter, Judge
Aaron B. Mason, Judge
Shana M. Rooks Malone, Judge
Jewel Scott, Judge

State Court

The State Court of the Clayton Judicial Circuit is a trial court of limited jurisdiction. It has authority over the following types of cases:

  • Civil actions without regard to the amount in controversy except those actions in which exclusive jurisdiction is vested in the Superior Court
  • Misdemeanor and traffic violations prosecuted by the Solicitor’s Office
  • The review of decisions of lower courts as provided by law.

Michael T. Garrett, Chief Judge
Tammi L. Hayward, Judge
Margaret Spencer, Judge
Shalonda Jones-Parker, Judge
Sonyja George, Judge

Superior and State Court Administration

The Office of the Superior and State Court Administrator provides administrative support services to the Superior and State Courts of the Circuit. The types of services provided include budget and financial management, personnel services, purchasing and contracting, liaison with other branches and agencies of government and with the public. Divisions within the Office manage and coordinate the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Program, the Divorcing Parents Seminar, Probation Services for adult misdemeanor probation, DUI Court, Drug Court and the Clayton County Law Library.